Sovereignty 

Jonathan was msning with me. Then he suddenly remembered that I posed a question in my blog.

Given a choice, would you want me to be beautiful by day and ugly by night or vice versa?

Jonathan said this, “I will wana u to be beauty in the day,…
 cos in the day u will meet ppl… then u will not feel bad.
 when in the nite.. u onli and me… and i love u for what u r.. and not hw u look like.”

So touching.

However, is this the answer your boyfriend or your husband gave you?

A poem set in the 15th century (medieval period) retelling in the form of The Wedding of Sir Gawain and Dame Ragnelle.

King Arthur was given a task to discover what thing is it all woman desires most. He asks all the villagers that question and none could give him the answer. A hideous woman whom he met in the forest strikes a bargain with him. She will let him know the answer if King Authur could promise her a knight in return. To save the king, Sir Gawain sacrifices himself and marries the hideous maid. On the wedding night, the hideous woman becomes beautiful and gives him the choices mentioned above, to be beautiful by day and ugly by night or vice versa

Sir Gawain was stranded at first, then tells her she can choose for herself, giving her the free will, and thus breaks the spells of ugliness that binds her.  

Poem adapted from ‘The Marriage of Sir Gawain”, <http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Marriage_of_Sir_Gawain>

A touching and deeply etched story in my memory when I first read it in my English Literature critque class.

Soverignty is what woman desires. Do you have it?

Even though Jonathan didn’t give me the free will to choose, I am still glad that he made the choice for me taking into consideration my feelings when I am facing many people and not minding the fact that I am ugly when I am with him at night. 🙂

Thank you for loving who I am and also what I am.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Sovereignty 

  1. I do not believe I have seen this said in such a way before. You really have clarified this for me. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

